Destination Australia Scholarships

Mexican Government Scholarships for International Students, 2022


Students are encouraged to submit applications for Mexican Government Scholarships. The scholarships can be used to pursue a master’s or doctoral degree in Mexico. Through a number of bilateral conventions, multilateral initiatives, and unique agreements, the scholarships are made available to more than 180 countries.

More than 70 universities in Mexico take part, and each of them offers academic programs that have been registered as National Quality Graduate Programs with CONACYT, the country’s council for science and technology.

International students, scholars, and scientists who live and work in Mexico contribute greatly to the development of long-term foreign policy objectives for both Mexico and its international allies. The rising internationalization also benefits Mexican academic institutions and communities.

Mexico improves its position as a global actor with responsibility and reaffirms its commitment to cooperative initiatives that support the development of highly skilled human capital by providing government scholarships to overseas students.


  1. Application Deadline: 14th of July 2022
  2. University or Organization: Mexican Government
  3. Department: NA
  4. Course Level: Master’s degree or doctorate, conducting graduate or postdoctoral research
  5. Award: Varies
  6. Access Mode: Online
  7. Number of Awards: Several scholarships are available
  8. Nationality: Applicants from the following countries can apply: Africa, North America, Latin America, Caribbean, Europe, Asia, Pacific, Middle East, and Non-Autonomous Territories.
  9. The program can be taken in Mexico


  • Eligible Countries:  Applicants from the following countries can apply:
  • Africa: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Comoros, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Saharawi, Arab Rep., São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
  • North America: United States, Canada and Canada / Province of Quebec
  • Latin America: Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela)
  • Caribbean: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Puerto Rico (Commonwealth), Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago
  • Europe: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and Ukraine)
  • Asia: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Kingdom of China, People’s Rep., India, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Democratic Rep., Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, North Korea, Pakistan, Islamic Rep. of Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Kingdom of Timor – Leste, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Vietnam and Socialist Rep. of
  • Pacific: Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji Islands, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Independent State, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu
  • Middle East: Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestinian National Authority, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen, and
  • Non-Autonomous Territories: Anguilla, Bermuda, Gibraltar, Cayman Island,  Turks and Caicos Islands, British Virgin and United States Virgin Islands, Montserrat, New Caledonia, Pitcairn Island, Western Sahara, American Samoa, Santa Elena, and Tokelau

ALSO APPLY: Bond University International Stand Out Scholarships in Australia

Mexican Government Scholarships

  • Scholarships will be given based on academic achievement.
  • The academic scholarships are available to pursue full Specialization, Master’s or PhD degrees, as well as Postgraduate Researches. The offer also covers academic mobility for undergraduate and graduate degrees. On the other hand, scholarships for unique programs are available. Visiting professors, researchers interested in Mexican topics, media contributors, artists seeking fellowships, etc. are encouraged to apply for short-term fellowships.
  • Scholarships are offered for pursuing a specialty, a master’s or doctoral degree, undertaking graduate or postdoctoral research, or participating in an academic mobility program at the undergraduate or graduate level.
    All courses offered at participating Mexican universities are eligible for scholarships, except business administration, plastic surgery, accounting, marketing, dentistry, odontology, and advertising.
  • Scholarships cannot commence in November or December unless there are exceptional circumstances.
  • All paperwork must be presented in Spanish or with Spanish translations.
  • The relevant Mexican embassy or other Mexican entity will inform applicants of the outcomes.


How to Apply: The mode of applying is online or by post.

Language Requirements: Applicants from outside the home country will often need to meet specific English language/other language requirements in order to be able to study there.

Benefit of Mexican Government Scholarships:

for bachelor’s-level mobility scholarships; master’s degree; specialization

At the Master’s level, a research stay costs 4 (four) times the Unit of Measurement and Update (UMA) monthly value, which is now equal to $11,700.36 in Mexican pesos. The changes mandated by legislation may affect the Unit of Measurement and Update (UMA). (Child support provided one month late.)

For PhD scholarships, doctoral research stays, postdoctoral, medical specializations, and subspecialties, a monthly maintenance payment of 5 (five) times the UMA’s monthly value, or $14,625.45 in today’s money, is required. The changes mandated by legislation may affect the Unit of Measurement and Update (UMA).(Child support provided one month late.)

Enrollment and tuition are determined in accordance with the terms of each Mexican educational institution’s program (Annex 1) and are subject to each institution’s final determination (Annex 2), which is communicated in the acceptance letter.

Medical insurance provided by the Mexican Institute of Social Security (IMSS), effective for the duration of the scholarship period and starting on the seventh month of the award. For Private Institutions, this management will fall within the purview of AMEXCID.

Visit The Official Website For More Information


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.